Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/
  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/


Who will win the award? — FIFA announces three finalists for 2023 Puskás Award

FIFA announced the finalists for the Puskás Award, and the goals are nothing short of amazing.

FIFA announces finalists for the 2023 Puskás Award

It all comes down to this.

On Thursday, Dec. 14, FIFA officially announced the players chosen to stand on the nomination podium for the lead-up of their annual Puskás Award, given to the player with the best goal of the year. 

Julio Enciso (Brighton), Nuno Santos (Sporting CP) and Guilherme Madruga (Botafogo) will be in contention for the award during FIFA’s The Best ceremony held on January 15, 2024 in London.

The fight for a legendary award.

Let's go ahead and take another look at the goals from the finalists.

Watch: Finalist goals for the Puskás Award 2023

Julio Enciso (Brighton vs. Manchester City)

The Paraguayan hit a worldie.

After what was a marvelous build-up play from the Seagulls, toying with one of the best sides in the world of soccer, the 19-year-old winger received the ball in the last third of the pitch, took an extra touch and put the ball in the upper left of Stefan Ortega's goal.

Guilherme Madruga (Botafogo FC-SP vs. Novorizontino)

Never too far to think about it.

During a regular season match of the Brasileirao B — the second division of Brazil — Botafogo midfielder Guilherme Madruga put on his Jogo Bonito instinct and scored an insanely distanced bicycle kick.

Nuno Santos (Sporting vs. Boavista)

As filthy as it gets.

When we think about the “rabona kick” we think of a silky skill used for nothing more than to flash your talents. Nuno Santos, however, did the exact opposite.

A ground pass into the 18, spilled just at the edge of the box, was found by left-footed left-back Nuno Santos who used the rabona to score an absolute masterpiece of a goal.

Who do you think will win the award?

Videos you might like