Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/
  • Notice: Undefined index: nid in views_handler_field_term_node_tid->pre_render() (line 98 of /var/www/html/docroot/sites/all/modules/views/modules/taxonomy/


Luka Modric Wins 2018 Ballon d’Or At Cristiano Ronaldo's Expense

After 10 years of nothing but Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, Croatia and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric has become the first player since Kaká back in 2007 to wrest football’s biggest individual accolade from the two behemoths of the modern game: The 2018 Ballon d'Or winner is Luka.

Messi finished fifth and Ronaldo second, but Modric won the award by a comfortable margin after leading Croatia to the final of the World Cup and receiving the Golden Ball as the tournament’s best player. At club level, Modric was inspirational in helping Real capture its third straight Champions League title and fourth in five years overall.

Embed from Getty Images

After previously winning the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award and The Best FIFA Men’s Player award, today’s ceremony was something of a formality. 

Here are the final standings from the vote.

2018 Ballon d'Or Winner: Final Standings

Tie #29: Isco and Hugo Lloris

#28. Diego Godin

Tie #25: Alisson Becker, Mario Mandzukic and Jan Oblak

Tie #22: Edinson Cavani, Sadio Mane and Marcelo

Tie #19: Roberto Firmino, Ivan Rakitic and Sergio Ramos

Tie #17: Gareth Bale and Karim Benzema

#16: Sergio Aguero

#15. Paul Pogba

#14. Thibaut Courtois (Best Goalkeeper)

#13. Luis Suarez

#12. Neymar (the first time he's been ranked outside of the top 10 since 2012)

#11. N’Golo Kante

#10. Harry Kane

#9. Kevin de Bruyne

#8. Eden Hazard

#7. Raphael Varane

#6. Mohamed Salah

#5. Lionel Messi (280 points)

#4. Kylian Mbappe (347 points)

#3. Antoine Griezmann (414 points)

#2. Cristiano Ronaldo (476 points)

#1. Luka Modric (753 points) 

Videos you might like